top of page
  • Writer's pictureShaye Johnson

Senior Year

It's over and I'm heartbroken about it. Even things that may be rescheduled just won't be the same. I'm devastated about prom, senior dinner dance, dance company concert, and graduation. It was my last chance to dance with my beautiful team. The last prom of my entire life. The last goodbye to all my 2020 classmates. All of that has been robbed from me because we are facing a global pandemic. It just does't seem fair. Not just to me but all the other graduating seniors of 2020. This was supposed to be our year.


I keep wondering when this will be over. Will it be days, weeks, or months? What about all my travel plans I have worked countless hours for? How does it all work out? I don't know how it will work out but I know that God knows. Quarantine has helped me grow closer to my Heavenly Father. Wether you are a believer of God or not find a beacon of hope to look too. Spiritual or non-spiritual find the light. Right now everything is so negative. We are always taught to look for the positives in life but where are the positives right now?


I don't know if I will have a graduation ceremony. I don't know if I will have my dream senior prom. I don't know if I will have senior dinner dance. I know I won't have a dance company concert. I know I will not serve a humanitarian trip to Guatemala this year. So again, where are the positives right know? So much is unknown. Your beacon of hope is your positive. Right now, mine is my Heavenly Father. I'm doing my best to trust him that everything will work out even if it's not the way I imagined it.


High school didn't go how I planned at all. I never planned to attend two different high schools. I never planned to be on dance company instead of drill team. I never planned for it to end so soon. Everyone I have met in my high school years has impacted me greatly. I'm very grateful for all the friends I have made in high school. I'm grateful for your example and friendship to me.


Even though I'm sometime bitter about it, I am thankful for my experience at American Fork High School. It has shaped me into the person I am today. I won't lie to you, I had a rough go at this school. I attended American Fork for all three years of middle school and my sophomore year of high school. You wouldn't know by looking at me then, but I was severely depressed and anxious. I felt alone and like all my friends were fake. They didn't invite me to hangout with them outside of school. After not having the high school life I wanted, I made a big decision to transfer to Pleasant Grove High School for my junior year.


Feeling alone for so many years and fighting an uphill battle with anxiety and depression taught me many things. It taught me how to love myself for the way I am. I learned I didn't need other validation. It taught me to be independent and strong. And I know that's exactly what we seniors are all going through right now. An uphill battle to prepare us for something much bigger.


Cavemen by blood but Viking by heart, high school will be unforgettable. Unforgettable because of the friendships and memories. Unforgettable because I went from red to blue. Unforgettable because of a world pandemic. Class of 2020, I love you all!





96 views

Comments


bottom of page