top of page
  • Writer's pictureShaye Johnson

D.I.Y Mickey Mouse Flower Ears

Hello Babes!! Last year when I went to Disneyland, I saw so many girls wearing mouse ears that looked liked flower crowns and I thought they were super cute. I finally asked someone where they had bought their ears because I couldn't seem to find them in any of the stores. The girl told me she had made them herself and inspired me to try it. After that trip to Disneyland I made my own ears and took them to Disneyworld a few short weeks later.

Today I'm very excited to share my first D.I.Y with you. For spring break this year I went to Disneyland with my dance team so I decided to make some new ears to wear for this trip. These ears cost between 15-20 dollars to make and are so different from anything you see in the park’s stores. I love these ears because you can customize them to your liking and you get so many compliments on them!!


Supply Needed

Neutral colored headband (Thick on top so you can glue flowers on)

3 Large sized flowers (I like to buy mine from Hobby lobby)

Smaller filler flowers & filler greenery (Hobby Lobby)

Wire (16-18 gauge)

Wire cutters

Cup (This determines the size of the wire ears)

Scissors

Hot glue gun



1. Creating the Wire Ears

To start, take your cup wrap the wire around it to make a circle. If you already have a pair of ears from Disneyland you can refer to them for size. When you go to wrap the wire onto the headband, it wont be a complete circle.



Try to get the end of the wire to finish on the top of the headband to avoid the sharp end of it digging into your head when you wear it. Wrap it 2-3 times around & then hot glue it so it stays in place. You can also hot glue any sharp ends from the wire to avoid any cuts.



2. Base & Main Flowers

Next, you will want to glue on your three main larger sized flowers. These flowers will be the center piece of your ears. You can get creative & glue these flowers wherever you would like but i recommend three certain spots; one under each wire ear & one in the center. I also suggest trying to position them creatively rather than all facing the same direction.




3. Filler Flowers & Greenery

After you have glued the three larger flowers on you just have to fill in the empty space. I normally start by adding a few small flowers & then a little bit of greenery. I switch off doing this until the headband is filled to my liking.




Don’t forget to also fill in the back with flowers & greenery. Do your best to cover the base of the wires & avoid putting the same colors right next each other.



Thanks for reading this blog loves:) If you have any questions on the instructions of this D.I.Y ask me in the comments or direct message my Instagram (Click on the Instagram icon at the top of my page). Don't forget to subscribe so you don't miss any blog post. To subscribe just click on the "About Me" tab on my page and scroll to the bottom box!!












22 views

Comments


bottom of page